A Historic Island Landmark
The Hilton Head Island Rear Range Lighthouse, also known as the Leamington Lighthouse, is located in the Leamington neighborhood of Palmetto Dunes Resort overlooking the Arthur Hills Golf Course. It was built between 1879 and 1880 as part of a larger system of navigation lights guiding ships to Port Royal Sound.
Although the faux lighthouse at Harbour Town, on the southern end of Hilton Head Island, is more widely known, the Hilton Head Rear Range Light is the island’s one true lighthouse. Featured on the National Register of Historic Places and part of the Inventory of Historic Light Stations, the lighthouse occupies a unique place in Hilton Head Island history. One of only a handful of surviving lighthouses in South Carolina, the Hilton Head Rear Range Lighthouse is the only historic lighthouse on Hilton Head Island.
Today, only the 92-foot structure survives, along with a vintage brick oil house and a water cistern located on site alongside one of the oldest living oak trees on Hilton Head Island.
From the blog:
Celebrate National Lighthouse Day, August 7th, at Palmetto Dunes Resort
On August 7, 1789, Congress approved an Act for the establishment and support of lighthouses, beacons, buoys and public piers. This is why August 7th is unofficially considered National Lighthouse Day.
After the most recent renovation in September 2019.
Click to view larger.